The big, HUGE chop

So, after two months of thinking (or mentally torturing myself ), I finally got my hair cut (and now it is extremely short!)

It was really difficult to book an appointment with my new hairdresser (he’s so good that it seems like everyone in my hometown wants him to work with their hair). Thankfully, he made an exception and booked me before everyone else on a tuesday morning.

I left home early that day with fear inside my heart. What would it look like? Would I really let him do it? Would I… cry? I thought for two months and yet I had no idea what I was up to.

As I arrived, I made the decision that, whatever happened, I would not give up and I would not cry. This was something I wanted – the first thing done to my hair that was decided by me entirely.

I entered the salon and sat on those salon chairs. Got my hair combed and divided into groups. He made ponytails with those and cut them with scissors (it was needed because I’m going to donate that hair). I looked at myself in the mirror and felt… nothing. 70% of my hair was gone within seconds and I did not feel sorry for it. In fact, after I observed myself a few seconds, I felt an excitement I’d never felt before – I wanted that so much and it was finally happening! My big chop!

He washed the hair and shaved my head. I looked at myself in the mirror again and LOVED IT.

Seriously, I feel prettier than ever and do not regret what I did. Now, I want to take care of my hair, of my whole body… I believe that I even love myself more. It’s a sense of power, of knowing that this is my body, my hair, and I can do whatever I want with it.

Another thing that crossed my mind that day (and I will keep with myself forever) is this: I won’t ask anyone’s opinion about it. The reason: it’s none of their business.

It’s a fact that whenever people make these big changes in life, some of their friends and family members will judge them and maybe even be rude to them. To avoid this and to be more empowered, I haven’t asked anyone’s opinion about my new hair style. I know some of them will say things anyway and I may get mad at them for that, but I won’t carry these bad feelings with me.

That’s part of being an adult, right? Making decisions and sticking to them. Lesson learned.

So that’s it, you guys.

Leave a Reply

