On introversion and shyness

Hello, folks!

Before I go on with my series of posts about Brazilian soap operas, a subject which I love writing about, I want to write my heart out again and keep talking about last post‘s subjects: introversion and shyness. My introversion and shyness (they’re two separate things, but in me they’re together).

One of the main reasons why I started this blog was: I wanted to communicate better with people. I wanted to learn how to explain my ideas and emotions without feeling awkwardness and fear. And it has helped a lot, let me tell you. Writing has become the most comfortable way I found to get my thoughts across.

Talking isn’t my best.

Everytime I get to talk to someone, like anyone (except for a very few friends), I get a bit nervous and uncomfortable, I suddenly am aware of every move I make and wonder if I’m doing something wrong with my body language, or if there’s something wrong with my clothes, or if that person is judging me and what they might be thinking about me. It’s kind of nerve wracking.

Before I got my hair cut short, it was worse (believe me, it can get worse).

Anyways, I think that this has something to do with the fact that growing up I didn’t – I’ll try to do my best to explain here – get used to being around people. Since early childhood, I’ve always enjoyed solitude. I used to spend lots of time reading and studying by myself. It brought (brings) me peace and safety. Along with that, I was kind of bullied because of my hair style and that surely didn’t make me want to be around other kids more.

This went on until I got to university, where I feel more comfortable than I did in high school and junior high, and am able to speak my mind about the subjects I study (engineering and maths). However, I’m still not used to social situations, like parties (which are like hell to me), and any types of conversations that aren’t about engineering and maths.

Summing up: I don’t want (or think it is possible to) change my introversion trait (because there’s nothing wrong with it), but I do want to be less shy/awkward around people. So, now I ask you: Are you shy and/or introverted and go/went through something similar? Do you have any advice on how to communicate well with people? Please, share with me in the comments section (the ‘leave a reply’ button is up the page).

I leave you with Snow Patrol. Just because they’re amazing and I love them. Bye!

Leave a Reply

