Arrival Feelings

The door’s open. With my heavy backpack, I enter the house.

The living room is there, waiting for me. I see its “L” shape, separating two locations: one room to receive visitants, another with the TV as its major point, designed to entertain. I wonder how many times I have slept on that brown couch. Many, certainly, much more than I can remember.

I soon realize that almost all of our furniture is made of wood. It is, I think, a great reminder of my hometown’s imperial past: it was one of Brazil’s most important economic centers at that time. Today, it doesn’t get near ten percent of that. Wooden anticque furniture is all that lasted.

Why haven’t I noticed this before?

Perhaps I took all of this for granted.

My grandmother’s ceramic vases, for instance. She built a small colection while she was still among us. What are they now, 60, 70 years old? I wonder how many special family moments thoses vases “witnessed”. Now, from up the cabinets and tables in our “visitant” room, they see me enter the house after months.

I step inside, close the door, lock it. Look around like it’s the first time I see it, checking every detail.

There’s new flower arrangement on the (wooden) coffe table. Around it, two white (and as old as I can recall) couches contrast with the rest of cabinets and tables in the room.

I walk a bit, get to the next part, where two brown (and much younger) couches are also in L shape, to give the TV the attention it demands. The backpack is heavy, I take it off my back and put it on the couch.

Yes, I took all of that for granted. We don’t give much importance to things we’ve always had. I wish I’d stopped to admire this place when I still lived here. Wait… what do I smell? Do I smell… cake? Chocolate cake?

A sound comes, I think it’s from the kitchen.

“Mom?”, I ask.

And then she comes, with a huge smile on her face, her arms open to hug me. I feel like I never left.

2 thoughts on “Arrival Feelings”

  1. Thank you for opening yourself up to others through your writing. I enjoyed reading your room with a view post.
    “I soon realize that almost all of our furniture is made of wood. It is, I think, a great reminder of my hometown’s imperial past: it was one of Brazil’s most important economic centers at that time.” Great paragraph. I like the way you tied in the requirements for the Writing 101 Assignment 2 with what is at the heart of your blog: Brazil. I look forward to reading more of your blog.
    “There’s new flower arrangement on the (wooden) coffe table.” For this sentence, you could have been more descriptive, given more details about both the flower and the wooden coffee table. For example, were the flowers small daisies or large petunias? Did they tower over the table or sit straight backed with a perkiness?
    I hope my critique of your post helped. I look forward to reading more of your blog.
    Peace, ~victoria

    1. Hi, Victoria, thank you so much for your feedback, it was very helpful! I totally agree with you, I could’ve given more details. I’ll try to be more descriptive next time.

      Peace,
      Maria

Leave a Reply

