Big Cities vs Small Towns

“Gosh, this is so beautiful!”, I say immediately after we get to the beach. I recently found out that my eyes are  much in love with the ocean, it’s hard to look away.

“I don’t like it”, my brother responded. I looked at him surprised.

“How can you say that? Look at it! This city is just wonderful!”

“No big deal to me. I mean, it is cool, I just don’t see myself living here in the future.”

At this point, we’re walking together along the beach, observing everything. From the amazing combination of ocean and sand to the diverse mix of people walking there as well – seniors, moms and dads with kids, young adults like ourselves, and many others.

“I just love it”, I say, “Can you feel the freedom this landscape brings? Besides, the city offers so much to do! There are activities everywhere here, for basicly everyone!”

“So much crowded. I prefer smaller cities, you know. I want to live in a place in which my future kids can play outside without fear, I don’t like, you know, this rhythm… One of my dreams is, one day, have a small property in the countryside and take my family there on the weekends and holidays. A simpler life.”

“Well, you can have a simple life here, look at this”, I point to the ocean, “I mean, living in a big city doesn’t mean you can’t be simple! And think about the good schools this city offers to your future children.”

“but where will they play here? Where will they enjoy their childhood?”

“Well, uh, there are places they can do that.”

“It is not the same! I want a safe place for them, for my family. I like calmer places and sincerely, I don’t know what you see here.”

“Freedom. A nice lifestyle. The landscapes… Everything here makes me feel alive.”

We stand together quiet for a moment and I think – how can two people who are best friends and were raised together, almost like twins, have such different views? And I am also sad, because it reminds me that one day we’ll walk separate ways.

“Well”, he says, “It’s gonna take a few years before I’ll move, you know.”

“Yeah, you’re right. You better start getting used to here.”

So we both laugh and walk on.

5 thoughts on “Big Cities vs Small Towns”

  1. I like your choice of Big vs Small. Great dialogue too, and yes, the two will grow apart, but not enough so they won’t always enjoy each other’s company. Nicely done, I enjoyed this piece.

  2. What bittersweet dialogue. You did a very good job writing in two very distinct voices. I could always tell who was speaking. I especially like the part where the sister (I think sister) is thinking to herself and it is as if the brother can read her thoughts as he breaks in with, “Well”, he says, “It’s gonna take a few years before I’ll move, you know.” How very touching.
    Thank you for sharing and I look forward to reading more of your posts. Again, very good dialogue.
    ~victoria

    1. Thank you so much for your feedback! This dialogue is a small version of a real one… It was indeed bittersweet and I tried to show all of the feelings I had that moment.

Leave a Reply

